Bushwalking at Lake Jindabyne.
Joy flight in a light plane at Canberra Airport.

Section Leader: Kim (Bagheera) - email or call 0414 914 171

Meeting times: Mondays 6.30pm - 8.00pm

The cub scout program is specifically designed to provide opportunities for children to develop and grow as individuals and as members of a team. Cub scout activities are planned to cover a broad range of interests and topics to trigger their imagination and curiosity.

At Air Scouts Canberra, we run an active scouting program with a special focus on aviation and space. Through our activity programs we've learned about planes, helicopters, parachutes, model planes, quadcopters, hot air balloons and space shuttles.

As a member of a 'Six' you and your pack will work together to explore the world. Your cub scout leader will help you along the way and encourage you to participate in Scouting activities. You'll learn life-long skills, participate in the Cub Scout's Award Scheme, earn badges, make friends and have fun!

Cub scouts activities include:

  • Short camping trips
  • Outdoor activities
  • Water activities and water safety
  • Organising and playing team games
  • Learning practical skills like knots and construction
  • Going on bush walks and nature trails
  • Orienteering and learning to read maps and compasses
  • Aviation and space related activities.

Our term program aligns with the ACT school year and is available here. Please note the term program is subject to change, so please confirm with the cub leader before attending. Cubs may commence transition (Link Badge) any time after their 10th birthday and will progress to scouts by their 11th birthday.

Badges and the Award Scheme

The major components of the Cub Scout Award Scheme are the Bronze, Silver and Gold Boomerang Badges. To earn each of these badges, Cub scouts must complete at least ten challenges under the guidance of Leaders. Cub scouts can set challenges for themselves to earn Achievement Badges from the areas of Arts and Literature, Nature, Science and Technology, Sports and Recreation, and Our World. There are also a number of special interest badges. The Grey Wolf Award is the pinnacle of achievement in the cub scout section. To earn the Grey Wolf Award a cub scout must hold a Gold Boomerang badge, participate in a minimum of four outdoor activities, plan and lead a bush walk, create a learning resource for their pack and meet other requirements.